Intermittent Fasting for Health & Weight Control

Oh wow, sorry for the long silence.

For most of this year I have been my husband’s carer in one way or another. He had a near fatal bowel emergency on Valentines Day. I am so very lucky to still have him in my life.

M personal journey has involved going through menopause. It has been a process of several years. It probably is not quite over. For the most part, my symptoms have largely involved excessive moodiness and some intermittent but mild depression, some hot flushing and changes to my cycle characteristics.

I believe the process started sometime not too long after the birth of my second child (November 2007). It is a bit weird – realising I am at that next stage of life.

What I really wanted to talk about is Intermittent Fasting (IF).
You may have heard or even read about it in the last couple of years. The book “The Fast Diet” is quite popular and has resulted in a spin-off meal industry in the UK.

I decided to experiment with the concept. I am doing it as a raw foodie. It is 4 weeks since I started.

Why would I do it if a raw food diet is supposed to have similar effects on weight and health?

Well, for me, my weight was not altered by raw food and at times, some raw foods irritate me rather than help me. I have a complex medical condition and have to be careful with folate as I cannot process it properly without high supplementation of vitamin B12. For me, that needs to be by injection on at least a weekly basis.

So, back to IF. It has actually shifted a small bit of weight for me I believe. I do not weigh myself or measure my BMI or body fat or anything else. I just go by how I feel and how my clothes fit.

The crux of intermittent fasting is having at least a couple of non-consecutive fast days each week. It is not a complete fast but a partial fast involving severe calorie restriction. The restrictions are 500 calories for women and 600 calories for men. You cannot afford to eat empty calories from refined sugars or have calorie dense foods like fats or animal products. The best way to do it is vegan and raw vegan at that, in my opinion.

On your non fast days, in theory you can have whatever you like. In practice, it is much better if you try to stick to a healthy moderate diet as much as possible. This makes the fast days easier, you will get better results, and it is just healthier that way.

Once you have lost the weight or accomplished the health gains you desire, you can change to one fast day per week. Certain people should NOT undertake intermittent fasting such as children, the elderly, the sick, anyone with a history of an eating disorder or anyone advised not to do so by their medical practitioner (you are free to seek multiple opinions on that).

One of my biggest challenges with it is that I get very cold when I fast/restrict calories. It is mid-winter here and it has been our coldest in 18 years. A good remedy for that is to include some warming spices like ginger, turmeric, garlic, and chilli. Potassium rich foods like bananas should help too.

If you would like to join me on this challenge I am offering two Bootcamp options:

http://betweenskyandearth.com.au/store/pc/Bootcamps-c252.htm

Until next time,

Peace to All.
Kiss for Life.

Miriam.

About mimb

Mother to two beautiful girls (both home birthed & home schooled), wife, Raw food (vegan) chef & coach, Permaculturalist, activist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

